Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)AMC
TitleRecords of the Association of Municipal Corporations
Extent109 boxes
DescriptionRecords of the Association of Municipal Corporations comprising Council and committee minutes, 1899-1972; verbatim reports of meetings, 1945-1974; conference reports, 1947-1973; Monthly Circular, Vol 1 1879-Vol 51 1929; Quarterly Circular (Digest of Opinions), Vol 1 1930-Vol 19 1948, continuing as Circular of Opinions, Vol 1 1949-Vol 25 1973; and Municipal Review, Vol 1 1930-Vol 44 1973. The collection also includes minutes of the Non-County Boroughs Committee for England and Wales, 1944-74, which was a separate Association (the Non-County Boroughs Association) from the mid 1920s up to 1947 when it became a Committee of the AMC.
ArrangementThis collection is arranged chronologically within each series
Access ConditionsAccess to all registered researchers
Finding AidsA catalogue of this collection is available on the online archive catalogue. Click on the Finding Number to display the summary contents list of the catalogue and to view the full catalogue, or view the catalogue as a PDF file by clicking in the document field below. A paper copy of this catalogue is also available for consultation at Special Collections.
DocumentAMC (May 2015).pdf
Access StatusOpen
Administrative HistoryThe Association of Municipal Corporations was formed in 1873 at a meeting of 102 representatives from 48 cities and boroughs and 58 MPs. The meeting was convened at the request of the Manchester Corporation in order to organise opposition to the Borough Funds Act 1872. It was proposed that 'an Association of Municipal Corporations be immediately formed, in order, by a complete organisation more effectively to watch over and protect the interests, rights and privileges of municipal corporations as they may be affected by public Bill legislation and in other aspects to take action in relation to any other subjects in which municipal corporations may be generally interested. The Association was formally constituted at a second meeting in March at which 83 municipal corporations were represented. The development of the formal organisation of the AMC was gradual. Initially a committee was appointed and entrusted with the general management of the Association and this consisted of representatives from 14 corporations. The Lord Mayor of London was made Treasurer and the Town Clerks of Liverpool, Manchester and Birmingham were appointed Honorary Secretaries. A Parliamentary Agent or Solicitor in Westminster was also appointed as Secretary. When the Honorary Secretaries resigned in 1879, a Municipal Law Committee was appointed in their place to assist the Secretary; and a Council of 40 replaced the committee of management. This number was increased to 50 in 1889, 25 each to represent county and non-county boroughs (the two different types of boroughs having been created by the Local Government Act of 1888). Other standing committees were later created, usually in response to specific needs, the earliest an Education Committee in 1904. Other committees were established in response to specific legislation: Housing (1929), Police (1921), Fire Brigade (1939, Fire Service from 1956) and Public Assistance (later Social Welfare (1930). In 1949, the constitution of the committees was altered to ensure that their membership consisted solely of elected members of councils. Town clerks and officers in the service if the member corporations were therefore excluded from the decision-making process and this paralleled the trend within the member authorities themselves. The only exception was the Law Committee whose membership continued to be made up solely of town clerks with legal qualifications. Consequently, the General Purposes Committee (established in 1929), consisting entirely of elected representatives, replaced the Law Committee as the policy formulating committee of the Association and from 1964, the Chairman of the General Purposes Committee was also the Chairman of the Association.

Following local government reorganisation in April 1974, the AMC ceased to exist. Although the Redcliffe-Maud Report had called for 'a single powerful association to look after the interests of local government and to speak for it' and also expressed the hope that with reorganisation the new authorities would join one association, this did not happen. The AMC was superseded by the Association of Metropolitan Authorities (AMA) whose membership comprised the metropolitan county and metropolitan district councils, the Greater London Council (including the Inner London Education Authority), the London Borough Councils and the Corporation of the City of London

Source: 'A list of the historical records retained by the Association of District Councils' compiled by Philippa Bassett as part of a research project funded by the Social Science Research Council (Birmingham: Centre for Urban and Regional Studies, University of Birmingham, 1980)
AcquisitionThese records were deposited by the Association of Metropolitan Authorities in 1993; further records were received from the Local Government Association in 2002. A donation of records from Bath Record Office in April 2015 was used to fill gaps in the run of the AMC Monthly Circular, 1879-1889 and 1895 (identified on the records as Acc2015/30).
CopiesCopies of the AMC's monthly publications are available in a number of University libraries: see
Related MaterialThe Special Collections Department holds records of a number of other local authority associations including the records of the Association of the Metropolitan Authorities (GB 0150 AMA), the successor of the AMC. It also holds the records of the County Boroughs Association (GB 0150 CBA), County Councils Association (GB 0150 CCA), the Association of County Councils (GB 0150 ACC), the Rural District Councils Association (GB 0150 RDCA), the Urban District Councils Association (GB 0150 UDCA) and the Association of District Councils (GB 0150 ADC).
Associated MaterialsEarlier records of the AMC are held at the Public Record Office.