Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)CMS/B/OMS/A7
TitleUganda Mission
Extent6 volumes of letter-books and precis books and 15 boxes of original papers
DescriptionPost-1880 papers of the Uganda mission.
Access ConditionsFor preservation reasons, microfilm or digital copies are made available in place of the original documents.
Access StatusOpen, but subject to some access restrictions
Physical DescriptionThe post-1880 papers are each individually marked in red ink, and this number, plus the year, comprises the reference for each item [e.g. G3 A7/1914/27]. Loose postcards: A7/1903/47, 184; A7/1908/134; A7/1933/70.
Administrative HistoryThe original expedition to the Nyanza region in 1876 [see A6] ended in 1885 with the death of Bishop Hannington. In 1889 the missionaries returned, but the work was administered as part of the East Africa mission [A5]. In 1897 the diocese of Eastern Equatorial Africa was divided, the Uganda protectorate becoming the diocese of Uganda and the mission was then made a separate administrative unit.
Of the areas occupied by CMS work began in Busoga (1891), Toro (1896), Bunyoro (1899), Kavirondo (1900-), Ankole (1901), the Acholi country (1904) and the Teso country (1908).
Custodial HistoryCatalogued by Rosemary Keen 1980.
CopiesAvailable on microfilm and online.

Church Missionary Society Archive, Section IV: Africa Missions, Parts 20 and 22.
Publisher: Marlborough: Adam Matthew Publications, 2005.
Location in the Cadbury Research Library: microfilm drawer C6.

Digital publication:
Church Missionary Society Archive: Africa Missions: Uganda Mission.
Publisher: Adam Matthew Digital.
Access: by institutional subscription: free to members of the University of Birmingham and visitors to the Cadbury Research Library and other subscribing institutions.
Related MaterialSee A6 and A5


    Some of our most significant collections