Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)CMS/B/OMS/A8
TitleTanganyika Mission
Extent3 vols. of letter-books and precis books, and 3 boxes of original papers
DescriptionPost-1880 papers of the Tanganyika mission.
Access ConditionsFor preservation reasons, microfilm or digital copies are made available in place of the original documents.
Access StatusOpen, but subject to some access restrictions
Physical DescriptionThe papers are each individually marked in red ink, and this number, plus the year, comprises the reference for each item [e.g. G3 A8/1916/92].
Administrative HistoryCMS Tanganyika mission [Usagara 1900-1903, Ussagara-Ugogo 1904-1911, German East Africa 1911-1920]. When in 1876 missionaries were sent to establish work in Uganda, intermediate stations were set up at Mpwapwa (1876) and Mamboya (1880). In 1900 work was begun at Berega and Mvumi. Other principal stations were Buigiri (1901), Kongwa (1904) and Kilimatinde (1922).

From 1876 to 1885 the work was part of the Nyanza mission [A6] and from 1886 to 1907 formed part of the East Africa mission [A5].

For the period 1900-1907 the Tanganyika mission items were entered in the East Africa precis book [G3 A5 P6], being listed under the heading 'Usagara section' etc. at the end of the East Africa items, session by session as the Group 3 Committee met and dealt with the agenda. Note that the original papers for 1900-1907 to which these precis entries refer are kept with the Tanganyika series [A8].

Secretaries with primary responsibility for South and East Africa mission:
1836-1846 Dandeson Coates; 1847-1865 Henry Venn; 1868-1873 Edward Hutchinson; 1873-1880 Henry Wright; 1880-1881 Edward Hutchinson; 1881-1892 Robert Lang; 1892-1912 Frederick Baylis; 1912-1925 George Thomas Manley; 1926-1934 Handley Douglas Hooper

Secretary to the General Committee [The General Committee was responsible for main Society policy and its Secretary was considered primus inter pares. Henry Venn (a Secretary 1841-1872) acquired the title of Honorary Clerical Secretary and this was retained by his successors until 1922 when, having become anomalous, it was changed to General Secretary]:
1825-1846 Dandeson Coates [layman]; 1846-1872 Henry Venn; 1872-1880 Henry Wright; 1880-1895 Frederick Edward Wigram; 1895-1910 Henry Elliott Fox; 1910-1922 Cyril Charles Bowman Bardsley; 1923-1925 Herbert Lankaster; 1926-1941 William Wilson Cash

Lay Secretary [Financial Secretary]:
1820-1846 Dandeson Coates; 1846-1863 Major Hector Straith; 1859-1866 Colonel Michael Dawes; 1867-1881 Edward Hutchinson; 1869-1875 Major General Edward Lake; 1882-1887 General George Hutchinson; 1888-1894 Major General Clennell Collingwood; 1895-1907 David Marshall Lang; 1908-1909 Robert Maconachie; 1910-1921 Herbert Lankaster; 1922-1925 John Kinahan [acting]; 1925-1937 Louis Steele
Custodial HistoryPapers catalogued by: Rosemary Keen 1980.
CopiesAvailable on microfilm and online.

Church Missionary Society Archive, Section IV: Africa Missions, Part 19.
Publisher: Marlborough: Adam Matthew Publications, 2004.
Location in the Cadbury Research Library: microfilm drawer C7.

Digital publication:
Church Missionary Society Archive: Africa Missions: Tanganyika Mission.
Publisher: Adam Matthew Digital.
Access: by institutional subscription: free to members of the University of Birmingham and visitors to the Cadbury Research Library and other subscribing institutions.
Related MaterialSee also A6 (Nyanza mission) and A5 (East Africa (Kenya) mission)


    Some of our most significant collections