Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)CMS/B/OMS/C CE O8
TitleCeylon Central Committee
Extent8 docs.
Description/1-3 Minutes 1850-1851;
/4 Minutes of special meeting relating to proposed mission church in Colombo 1851;
/5 Minutes of special meeting according to the interim rule 1852; minutes of monthly meeting of Finance Committee Feb 1852;
/6 Report of sub-committee relating to David Jayesinhe 1852;
/7-8 Letters from lay members of committee relating to dissolution of committee 1852
Access StatusOpen
Administrative HistoryIn 1850 CMS sent out Rev. George Pettitt to be secretary of a newly formed Central Committee, which was to act as a corresponding committee. At the same time Southern and Jaffna Local Committees were formed. The Central Committee was not considered successful and was dissolved by order of headquarters in 1852. From this time the mission was administered by the local committees:
President: Bishop of Colombo
Members: Hon. W. C. Gibson
Major J. Skinner
Hon. Mr. Justice Temple
E. I. Darley
and missionaries
Secretary: Rev. G. Pettitt


    Some of our most significant collections