Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)CMS/B/OMS/G2 I2 L
TitleLetter-books [outgoing]
Extent8 vols.
DescriptionThe letter-books contain copies of outgoing correspondence from Secretaries at headquarters as Committee's representatives to missionaries, also occasionally copies of correspondence and papers from others concerned with the mission affairs in Britain and overseas
ArrangementThe volumes have name indexes and from 1890-1917 the letters are marked with red ink with appropriate cross-references to the Corresponding Committee minutes.
Access StatusOpen
Physical DescriptionThe letter book covering the period 23 December 1884-13 February 1890 [L10] has been missing since 1951
Administrative HistoryMission secretary: 1882-1920 Edward Sell; 1920-1934 Robert William Peachey

Acting secretary: Feb 1888-Dec 1889 Dec William George Peel; Feb-Sep 1892 William George Peel; Feb-Dec 1895 Albert Henry Arden; Dec 1895 - Jan 1897 Henry Delpratt Goldsmith; Jan 1902 - Jan 1903 Charles William Arden Clarke; Jan 1906 - Jan 1907 John Benjamin Pares; Mar 1911 - Jan 1912 Robert William Peachey; Mar 1915 - Nov 1916 Edward Langdale Smith; Jul-Sep 1923 Ernest Evitt
Related MaterialFor 1880-1884 see C I2 L9


    Some of our most significant collections