Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)CMS/B/OMS/I6
TitleNorth-West Provinces Mission
Extent6 volumes of letter-books and precis book and 10 boxes of original papers
DescriptionPost-1880 papers of the North West Provinces mission.
Access StatusOpen
Physical DescriptionNames of mission stations have been standardised, but no attempt has been made to modernise any names of the places. The post-1880 papers are each individually marked in red ink, and this number, plus the year, comprises the reference for each item [e.g. G2 I4/1902/24].
Administrative HistoryThe North West Provinces mission was set up in 1892 when the diocese of Lucknow was formed It comprised the North West Province with its capital at Agra and the Province of Oudh (capital at Allahabad); also the Central Provinces and Rajputana. In 1902 it changed its name to United Provinces. This avoided confusion with the new North-West Frontier Province separated from the Punjab in 1900.
When the Central Provinces and Rajputana were formed into the diocese of Nagpur in 1903 the area was designated a CMS mission [I 8 q.v.]. The remaining United Provinces of Agra and Oudh continued as a CMS mission [I 7].
Custodial HistoryCatalogued by Rosemary A. Keen, 1962-1963. Handlist revised and expanded by Rosemary Keen, 1984-1985.
Related MaterialFor the names of the main mission stations see the introductory notes to the United Provinces mission [I 7] and the Central Provinces mission [I 8].


    Some of our most significant collections