Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)CMS/B/OMS/I7
TitleUnited Provinces Mission
Extent12 volumes of letter-books and precis books and 17 boxes of original papers
DescriptionPost-1880 papers of the United Provinces mission.
Access StatusOpen
Physical DescriptionNames of mission stations have been standardised, but no attempt has been made to modernise any names of the places. The post-1880 papers are each individually marked in red ink, and this number, plus the year, comprises the reference for each item [e.g. G2 I4/1902/24].
Administrative HistoryThe United Provinces of Agra and Oudh were given this name officially in 1902, when they were set up as an administrative unit. In the same year the CMS mission formerly called CMS North West Provinces mission [I 6 q.v.] likewise changed its name to United Provinces.
The chief stations in the province of Agra comprised three groups: Benares (1817), Gorakhpur (1823) and Allahabad (1859), in the south-east; Agra (1813), Meerut (1815), Aligarh (1863) and Muttra (1878) in the west; and Annfield (1859) and Mussoorie (1894) in the north-west.
In the provicne of Oudh the main stations were Lucknow (1858) and Faizabad (1862).
Custodial HistoryCatalogued by Rosemary A. Keen, 1962-1963. Handlist revised and expanded by Rosemary Keen, 1984-1985.


    Some of our most significant collections