Finding Number (Click this to view full catalogue structure)CMS/B/OMS/I8
TitleCentral Provinces Mission
Extent5 volumes of letter-books and precis books and 6 boxes of original papers
DescriptionPost-1880 papers of the Central Provinces mission.
Access StatusOpen
Physical DescriptionNames of mission stations have been standardised, but no attempt has been made to modernise any names of the places. The post-1880 papers are each individually marked in red ink, and this number, plus the year, comprises the reference for each item [e.g. G2 I4/1902/24].
Administrative HistoryThe Central Provinces (of Oudh and Agra) together with Rajputana and the Berars in Central India were formed into the diocese of Nagpur in 1903. The Society's work in the Central Provinces (from 1854) and in Rajputana (from 1880) was separated from the United Provinces mission [G2 I 6] in December 1903 and a Corresponding Committee for the Nagpur diocese was set up in January 1904.
There was work among Hindus and Muslims in the Central Provinces, centering on Jabalpur (1854) and Katni Murwara (1899), and in Rajputana, centreing on Bharatpur (1902). A mission to the Gonds had as its main stations Manla (1879), Marpha (1892), Patpara (1897) and Deori (1909).
The work among the Bhils at Biladia and Lusadia (1901) was transferred in April 1915 to the Western India mission [G2 I 3].
Custodial HistoryCatalogued by Rosemary A. Keen, 1962-1963. Handlist revised and expanded by Rosemary Keen, 1984-1985.
Related MaterialSee [G2 I 3]


    Some of our most significant collections